muzhingi5h23

Words of a Comrades Winner

The truth is out! Who is @StephenMuzhingi running for in 2013?

The question we have been asked a thousand times since Stephen arrived in South Africa last week is “Who is he running for?   Who are his sponsors?   Is he running Two Oceans?   What about Comrades?”   I hope this short commentary of his last week in South Africa answers some of those those questions, and gives you a little bit of  insight into the man, husband and father of two, not just the “champ”.

After meeting with the delightful, exuberant and energetic (yes, it’s true) Lucas Mongatane, the Chairman of Toyota Athletics Club, earlier today, we can officially confirm that Stephen Muzhingi, 3 times Comrades winner and current holder of the Two Oceans Title is contracted to Toyota Athletics Club, a mutually beneficial relationship that may well see Toyota win its first Comrades Marathon!  In fact I have very little doubt that Toyota will take this year’s first place in Comrades with the likes of Stephen in their colors, and a very proud and confident FedGroup will have grand reason for celebration..

Stephen leaves for Zimbabwe tomorrow after spending the day with his other major sponsors, FedGroup, and we wish him and his family well, and look forward to seeing him very soon again in preparation for Two Oceans Marathon.

I asked Stephen to say a few words to his sponsors, friends and supporters, and although emotional, he is determined, committed and back to the Stephen we know and love.

“I am humbled and grateful.   I am speechless.   Thank you to my major sponsors Toyota and FedGroup.   Thank you for your faith and belief in me.   This year I plan to defend my Two Oceans Title, gain back my Comrades Title and win the world IAU World 100km sanctioned by the IAAF being held at the end of the year.

Last year was a difficult time for me but your support and encouragement of me has made me even more determined to make you proud of me.  I WILL make you proud.

I thank also my Management Team, Craig Fry Inc, and my social media team, who keep my friends, fans and supporters around the world in touch with what is going on in my world.

I look forward to meeting many of you at the races that are coming up.   Thank you again.   I am very proud to be associated with Toyota and FedGroup, and wear my association with great pride.”

All pictures copyright D E FRY

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

February 27, 2013 - Posted by | Athletics, Comrades, Comrades Marthon, FedGroup, GedGroup, iau world 100km, Lucas Mongatane, Marathon Running, Media, muzhingi officially running for Toyota Athletics Club, Running, Stephen Muzhingi, Touota Athletics Club, Toyota Athletics Club, Two Oceans Marathon, Uncategorized, Zimbabwe | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a comment