muzhingi5h23

Words of a Comrades Winner

Introduction to Stephen Muzhingi

Hi All

I am Stephen Muzhingi, the current two times Champion of the Comrades Marathon, The worlds Greatest Ultra Marathon averaging 89km each year. The Comrades is run between Durban and Pietermaritzburg, in South Africa, and alternates each year, one year starting in Durban and finishing in Pietermaritzburg, and the next year the other way around.

I am born and bred in Zimbabwe, and live there with my wife and 2 year old son, as well as spend 6 months a year in Durban where I prepare for Comrades with my Coach.

In signing up for this Blog, I hope to be able to share with the general public, a piece of me, and who I am and what it takes to do what I do. From the hardships growing up in poverty, and what I have had to do to get to the top of the Runing World, to the highs, of winning races, and what this has done to my life to the lows of bailing from races that I should have won.

The sacrifices that a professional athlete has to make and how this effects my life and that of my family, not only of my wife but my extended family, all of whom play a huge part of my life, and because of their continued support of me and my running, allows me to become a Champion. Without this support system I would be nothing, just an average “joe” Sunday runner. But I have been fortunate to have an awesome support system and thank my family every day for what they give up to help me do what I do.

I hope you will enjoy what I will have to say over the next few months and years, and I look forward to sharing me with you, and hopefully we can all achieve waht we set our minds to, and together we will all be winners.

I may even let you all into some of my secret training tips, and locations? But all in good time.

All the best

Stephen Muzhingi

February 20, 2011 - Posted by | Comrades, Comrades Marthon, Marathon Running, Running, Stephen Muzhingi, Two Oceans Marathon | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. I’m so impressed by your performance both two oceans and comrades well done and God be with you and keep you wish you all the blessings to your running career

    Comment by Bethuel Lephallo | February 20, 2011 | Reply

    • Thanks Bethuel
      If we keep positive and are good to others then there is no reason for thinsg to not go right.
      Cheers
      Stephen

      Comment by muzhingi5h23 | February 21, 2011 | Reply

  2. Great to see you starting a blog Stephen.

    We look forward to following you blog and learning from you.

    By the way there is nothing wrong with being a Joe Sunday runner. In this day and age it is hard to imaging there would be a Comrades if not for the Joe Sundays who make it viable.

    Comment by Andrew and Sue O'Brien | February 20, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi, Thank you for keeping up with me in the new things I am doing. Absolutely agree, that without the masses and every day runner there would be no races. That is why I never take anything for granted with the talent God has given me, and thank him every day for it. I too know that I will also become a lot slower and will be an every day runner one day too, but I will always run the races, as taking aprt first and foremost is what is enjoyable.

      Regards

      Stephen

      Comment by muzhingi5h23 | February 21, 2011 | Reply

  3. young man i am very proud of what you have done to our country,yourself,your family and to us who happen to have a hand in the current man we are celebrating today. i remember you coming to school very early in the morning and you would be the first and yet you lived furthest away from school.very disciplined boy and we made you a prefect. i have always told people that we have every reason to go into town and make noise about your success.you are a star.keep it up young man.will keep in touch. God Bless You.

    Comment by progress mgazi | June 7, 2011 | Reply

  4. Stephen you are absolutely amazing and a great source of inspiration to me (and many others) as a runner. Thank you for your awesome dedication to the sport and for representing Zimbabwe.God Bless!

    xxoxo

    Comment by Nyarie | June 7, 2011 | Reply

    • Thank you for your very kind words and support. All the Best with your running, and I hope to keep bringing smiles to people through any success I may have or have had. Thank you, Bye SM

      Comment by muzhingi5h23 | June 23, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

