muzhingi5h23

Words of a Comrades Winner

Everything is Happening!!!!

This may sound a little far fetched but this is in fact what has happened in thelast 6 weeks.

My passport expired in December 2010, so I had to get a new one, and with getting a new passport, when I went to South Africa to finish my training I only got a 3 month visa. So this expired on 1 May 2011, so I would have to leave the country and then re-enter. We drove from Durban to Swaziland to cross the boarder, and then discovered my visa had in fact expired, so had to pay a fine of R1000.00. I have to say the officials didn’t give any lea way or care that I was the defending Champion. I do give them credit, they were only doing their job.

They gave me 31 days on this visa. So my Visa would expire on the Tuesday 31 May. Tuesday came and I had to leave the South Africa or pay another fine, and I didn’t want a black mark on my name as it may hamper visa applications down the line.

So unfortunately I had to leave SA in a bit of a hurry. I arrived at home and things were great. Had a reception which was put on by Bakers Inn. My coach and manager wanted me back in SA for sponsors etc. My family was reluctant to let me go, but I had no choice, as this is my career, my job. So I made the trip back to SA for the awards ceremony for my club, as well as to get my new sponsored car from Barrons VW. (Nice car indeed)

Coach and I then had to drive back to Zimbabwe with my new car, name on the side and all the nice things. He had to drive with me as it is as long way and I haven’t driven on my own for such a distance. Once back in Zimbabwe, we stopped at a cross roads.

Attempted hi – Jacking

Coach was looking in one direction and out of no where two guys rush up to the car and start trying to open the door, which was locked, and then started banging on the window. I just shouted “Coach my car, my car, drive, go go go go go go.” He then seriously drove, and for the next 30 minutes we were in a bit of a state of shock. I hear of car jacking in SA, but not really in Zimbabwe. The way these guys were knocking on the window, I knew they weren’t just trying to greet me, THET WANTED MY CAR!, Sorry for them, they were unsuccessful. A South African friend said to me once – “Africa is no place for sissies (the weak).” Its sad to think that people out there would rather just take from another persons hard work!

Coach then returned to SA, and I have been resting and spending time with my Family and friends.

The Zim Government have promised me a diplomatic passport and cash incentives for winning, so lets see what transpires from this. It would be great to be recognised in this way by my Country.

In case you didn’t know as yet, I received an Invite to New York Marathon in November. Running this and hopefully doing a PB of sub 2H10 will just cap off a great year for me, and will go down as the greatest year of my life.

My first race outside of Africa will be in September where I will be running in Switzerland. That’s going to be great too. Will let you know how we get on there.

So a lot has happened since beginning May 2011, and it keeps coming! Who knows what tomorrow brings??????

Until next time

Stephen Muzhingi

3 Time Comrades Winner (I like to say that 🙂 )

June 23, 2011 - Posted by | Athletics, Comrades, Comrades Marthon, Exercise, Fitness, Marathon Running, Running, Stephen Muzhingi, Two Oceans Marathon, Uncategorized | , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Man u bringing back our lost pride as a people.

    Comment by chamunorwa nhau | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  2. U make us proud man

    Comment by chamunorwa nhau | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  3. Stephen, i am running the NYC Marathon too!! Would be such an honour if you were also there! But i will be flying the SA flag – not the Zim one hehe. You are a tru inspiration!

    Comment by Morgan Ross | June 23, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi, Morgan, good luck with your race in NY. I will first and foremost be flying the Zim Flag, but I may have to go with both, as SA is as good as my home, so will probably wear both hats. Cheers SM

      Comment by muzhingi5h23 | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  4. Great year so far! Have a great training cycle. I’ll be in NYC for the marathon-hope to get to meet you there!

    Comment by BrianFlash | June 23, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi Brian, Thanks for the read. I will certainly let everyone know of my movements. I think my manager is going to set up a dinner evening for me in NY where I might give a talk, but I will let everyone know. Thanks again, and good luck for with your run, I am sure you will enjoy. Cheers SM

      Comment by muzhingi5h23 | June 23, 2011 | Reply

  5. thank goodness you are ok!! that must have been scary, wonder what they will think if they read they tried to steal the car of the Comrades champion?? Good luck for New York, you will have an amazing race, people in Zim and SA are both proud to call you one of our own!! what race are you running in Switzerland? Thanks for all the blogs! 🙂

    Comment by plustenner | June 23, 2011 | Reply

    • Hi, thank you for the comments. I will be running a marathon in Switzerland, as they invited me and I though would be a good idea to do a race in another country before NY, as I have never raced outside of Africa. I will do my best at both and thank you very much for your support, I will do you proud. Regards

      Stephen

      Comment by muzhingi5h23 | July 4, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

